The final post…for a while

(But the book tour continues in the UK and Australia!)

In the last couple of weeks, I’ve finished the last 12 hour shifts of my first year of midwifery studies, begun attending the lectures for my second year, and facilitated an international FreeGaza meeting in Brussels in the middle. Also this year so far, I’ve done about 30 book events – and thank you so much to all the groups and people who’ve made those happen. I’ve been posting occasionally to this blog since I returned from Gaza, but I’ve decided it’s time to stop…I need to step up the attention to my degree (it’s getting harder, and I’m not getting smarter!), while keeping going with more book events in my spare moments.

In Palestine, and in Palestine solidarity, there’s so much going on, and I’m very aware this blog is in no way keeping up. The Jewish Boat to Gaza just got stopped by Israel; Ewa has just written about the Flotilla attack, while Adie is writing from Gaza about his work with some of the people you met via my blog, including Dr Mona and the Samouni family; Sarah my co-author is blogging from the West Bank for a few weeks; the Russell Tribunal is about to convene in London and needs your support, the UN Human Rights Commission enquiry into the flotilla attacks has reached some very strong conclusions and a summary of the report is here (but it doesn’t actually recommend anything…hmm…); and the Viva Palestina convoy is on the road again. And the FreeGaza boats will sail again soon…

Anyway, for me, the role of my own writing has been much less important since I left Gaza, and I would rather you went and read writing coming out of Palestine right now (look at my links page if you need some contacts to start you off.) I will continue to tell Gaza stories via my book – you can invite me along anywhere you need a random activist-author-midwife type person (so keep an eye on my events calendar which I will keep updating) and one day I will be back here writing again. I don’t really have the words I need to thank all of you – the readers who opened your hearts to my stories of Gaza, when that meant, and continues to mean, a lot of pain and sometimes horror. I hope what you’ve also found here is some of the courage, hope, and joy that my Gaza friends have shared with me.

Ken Loach on why he supports the Russell Tribunal:

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “The final post…for a while”

  1. mikemayos Says:

    Ken Loach makes great films…but not sure this qualifies him to make appropriate observations. But at least it getting the topic out there!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

